EggXpert

The official Newegg tech support community and Newegg tech support forums. Learn about PC building, case mods, computer repairs, and computer troubleshooting. Get help from knowledgable community members about computer hardware and computer software, laptops, notebooks, netbooks, consumer electronics & mp3 players, home networking, lcd TVs, home audio and more.
Welcome to eggXpert.com. Sign in | Join | Help
in Search
Advanced Search

alert to look out for just got today

Last post 08-23-2009, 8:08 PM by slmclarengt. 6 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  08-02-2009, 5:19 PM 554022

    alert to look out for just got today

    admin or mod reading this i didnt know where to post this i did inform newegg C.S

    before coming in to post this alert

    Message: below is an item you all need addressed,

    i get a so called reminder to finish paying for my order that was shipped on Friday now in transit the link falls back to a scamer or a spoof, now i feel like im at ebay.

     Hint

    Dear rnsa****, As a courtesy, we wanted to remind you that you have items in your Shopping Cart that haven't been purchased. Popular items sell out fast on Newegg.com, so if you meant to buy these items-don't delay!

    tip new egg never asks or states a person my an email address never, from what i have got from new egg

    the link to my emty cart http://secure.newegg.com/Shopping/ShoppingCart.aspx?nm_mc=EMC-RMC&cm_mmc=EMC-RMC-_-content-_-btn-_-ShoppingCart&cm_lm=rnsa@cmjproductions.com

     

    A FAKE CUSTOMER SERVICE PAGE

    Tip

    http://newegg.ehosts.net/netagent/cimlogin.aspx?questid=DB46A79E-C55B-4786-B693-22CF87A1347C&portid=D9E3E91C-CE0A-4AE7-AE0F-24868F59FB75&nm_mc=EMC-RMC&cm_mmc=EMC-RMC-_-content-_-img-_-LiveChat&cm_lm=rnsa@cmjproductions.com
     

    Newegg is not a shared hosting with ehost and new egg does not have a .net link in any relations what so ever with ehost

    And tip Number 3 if you see the link i gave but break it down to a full link by the domain http://www.ehosts.net/ ITS DEAD THIS IS A PRIVATE PERSON ACTING AS A HOST PROVIDER. I KNOW THIS GUY HES A HACKER HIS NAME WILL BE SEEN ON TOP OF BROWSER AND IT IS NOT AN ID OF THE NEW EGG ICON CALLED FAVICON


    DJ_Stormy
    Anarchy Radio
  •  08-02-2009, 7:26 PM 554058 in reply to 554022

    Re: alert to look out for just got today

    Interesting, I know everyone isn't as observant as you and I hope they notice it's not legit as well. I'm sure proper measures will be put forth to put an end to this.


  •  08-02-2009, 8:57 PM 554081 in reply to 554022

    Re: alert to look out for just got today

    lol oh i was po and mad, as you know what.

     

    lol but yea no relation but looks like you would see the paypal fake and the ebay fakes i can probly find a newegg clone script also im sure.

    i found myspaces paypals ebays, and others cloned  flotting around i check and clean them and see how they set up lol, i know of proxy places how to do them and a no ip or fake ips to proxy, what they did was use a proxy with a clone new egg far as i see it is. and used the no ip, and made up the domain to be covered its tips tricks i do daily with all my work keeps hackers busy for a long time.

    and bad part is the links are ignored alot so a lot would belive it was new egg but oh no, wheres the icon of neweggs all are usly an egg and gold looking, not blue with a diff design, look at this sites favicon its and egg with a hat.


    DJ_Stormy
    Anarchy Radio
  •  08-03-2009, 11:40 AM 554281 in reply to 554081

    Re: alert to look out for just got today

    Well I checked your link out and then I went to NEs chat inside their CS area and it’s the same URL. E-Host is a domain registration site for, *.net, .com, .org, .biz, and .info.

    Click here first

    http://www.newegg.com/HelpInfo/CustomerService.aspx

    Click on chat here from Neweggs webpage itself.

    And it does come up to https://newegg.ehosts.net/netagent/cimlogin.aspx?questid=DB46A79E-C55B-4786-B693-22CF87A1347C&portid=98139DE8-D6B4-4EC0-B6FA-66E04466C012&nareferer=http%3A//www.newegg.com/HelpInfo/CustomerService.aspx

    Your URL that you received come very close but the last part is to your email address.

    http://newegg.ehosts.net/netagent/cimlogin.aspx?questid=DB46A79E-C55B-4786-B693-22CF87A1347C&portid=D9E3E91C-CE0A-4AE7-AE0F-24868F59FB75&nm_mc=EMC-RMC&cm_mmc=EMC-RMC-_-content-_-img-_-LiveChat&cm_lm=rnsa@cmjproductions.com

     

    However I would give CS a call

    Telephone Hours of Operation:
    Mon - Fri: 8:00am - 5:00pm PST

    Toll Free: (800) 390-1119
    Fax: (626) 271-9403

     


    Photobucket
    Photobucket
  •  08-03-2009, 4:56 PM 554416 in reply to 554281

    Re: alert to look out for just got today

    l don't know but i looked for the egg icon it was not there and i didn't trust it cause new egg never places a email as a parsons name if there is a name mine always says stormy johnson on my emails by new egg during sign up and after i order

    and dang it hoping it was here today  : oh sorry waitng on my hdd from new egg for my laptop i just got one given to only needed a new hdd but yea i still wont trust that site or whats in it, it looks like a new egg but oh heck no way am i temping to do anything and bad thing is wheni contacted them they never replied back from the email i sent.

    and it  dint look like a new egg link at all it was promo@email.newegg.com.

    unless this is a resellers page or a affil page, either way the data they state was incorrect from friday to sunday i ordered my stuff at 2 am friday was already out and shiped when i got up at  2 pm i belive. and the site had no data of any full carts after that.


    DJ_Stormy
    Anarchy Radio
  •  08-03-2009, 8:10 PM 554464 in reply to 554416

    Re: alert to look out for just got today

     

    djstormy:

    l don't know but i looked for the egg icon it was not there and i didn't trust it cause new egg never places a email as a parsons name if there is a name mine always says stormy johnson on my emails by new egg during sign up and after i order

    I have gotten emails in the past because I did have stuff in the basket. Now the "Egg Icon" you are speaking of at what location on the page next to the URL?

     

    djstormy:

    and dang it hoping it was here today  : oh sorry waitng on my hdd from new egg for my laptop i just got one given to only needed a new hdd but yea i still wont trust that site or whats in it, it looks like a new egg but oh heck no way am i temping to do anything and bad thing is wheni contacted them they never replied back from the email i sent.

    Well you can always track your package as well and see where it is and when it might arive on USP.com, if that is what you used. Contact them on the Phone, email that will take longer.

     

    djstormy:

    and it  dint look like a new egg link at all it was promo@email.newegg.com.

    Newegg.com [promo@email.newegg.com] is real you signed up for it I as well as so many others get that email because we all signed up for it. So yes that is not fake at all. Everyone that signed up for shell shocker and the daily deals get that email and yes it is promo@email.newegg.com.

     

    djstormy:

    unless this is a resellers page or a affil page, either way the data they state was incorrect from friday to sunday i ordered my stuff at 2 am friday was already out and shiped when i got up at  2 pm i belive. and the site had no data of any full carts after that.

    That is why you call them. And that is from their webpage.


    Photobucket
    Photobucket
  •  08-23-2009, 8:08 PM 562228 in reply to 554464

    Re: alert to look out for just got today

    E-mail addresses can be spoofed as easily as writing a different person's return address on a parcel or letter. So do not be fooled by that simple spoofing job.

    Next, if it is phishing, send it on over to the Road Runner abuse department (Time Warner Cable) at http://www.rrsecurity-abuse.com/index.php

    They are the provider for ehosts.net according to a domain WHOIS then a traceroute to the originating IP.

    Good luck,

    Slm


    Please, feel free to private message me if you are looking for help; just link me to the thread.

    Put your hand on a stove for a minute and it seems like an hour. Sit with that special girl for an hour and it seems like a minute. That's relativity. -Einstein

    Website: WWW.BnDClan.COM
    WC3:FT Counter-strike server: wc3.bndclan.com:27015
View as RSS news feed in XML

 Home   Forums   Chat   Blogs   Deals   Newsletter   About 

 FAQ   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy   Contact Us 

©2009 Newegg, Inc. All rights reserved.